The Magic of Bees

A friend of mine was recently telling me how she has greatly reduced her seasonal allergies with bee pollen.  Now this is the kind of friend you believe- she researches everything before she tries it plus we have similar value systems and interests so we are generally into the same thing.  She is the greatest shortcut for me- her recommendations are usually spot on and she does the research, which she loves and I am usually to impatient for.

Anyway, while we were at dinner I sneezed which brought up the topic of seasonal allergies, of which I am a sufferer.  She strongly recommended trying local bee pollen to help.  I had heard that eating  local honey daily would reduce allergies but bee pollen was new to me.  We talked about it for a while and I wrote down her recommendation of a local pollen carrier and made a mental note that I was almost out of honey and needed to pick up more.

Just about five miles up the street from where I live there is an organic farm.  They have a farm stand where they sell their food and also stock locally baked bread and local honey.  While out running errands yesterday I popped by to grab some honey and guess what I found- bee pollen.  I bought a jar and brought it home to try.  I’m starting out slow, as recommended, so I just ate a pinch yesterday and a pinch today.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Apparently bee pollen is considered a “super food” and is supposed to be good for you in all sorts of ways.  I’m already a big fan of the bee’s work as nature’s pollinator- if this works out I’ll be a true believer in the magic of bees.

Leave a Reply

