Brutal


I just ran at 2:00 in the afternoon; it was 95 degrees out with full sun and absolutely brutal.  If you recall, I live in the desert, and while desert plants are beautiful, shade isn’t really their thing.  Those that are big enough to cast some shade in a yard certianly aren’t big enough for that shade to reach runners on the sidewalk.  So, while the rest of the country is sipping pumpkin spice lattes and crunching through fall leaves as they walk, we are sweltering here.  My sister lives in the Midwest and keeps telling me I should be glad it’s warm because it’s gotten chilly there.  What she forgets is, we’ve been enduring triple digit temperatures for five months.  I honestly don’t hate the heat.  It’s only in October that it gets to me, when you’re just so excited for those cool crisp temperatures to roll in.  I grew up in Indiana where fall was a thing of beauty; it was always my favorite time of year.  Now I live in Phoenix where “fall” is merely a reminder of favorite memories past.

Anyway, back to today.  I was so hot when running that I go home and walked straight into the pool.  (Thank goodness for the pool!). Our pool temperature has dropped to 75 and I haven’t been in it in a month and a half… but today it was bliss. And also possibly functioned as a pseudo ice bath for lunch legs!

3 thoughts on “Brutal

Leave a Reply

